User-friendly version for the blind
> Home > Culture > Cultural Walk

Cultural Walk

Worth Seeing

Experience the ambience of the past on a virtual cultural walk through Hartberg. Get to know about the charisma of a modern, lively town and be surprised how old and new form a harmonious whole.

A Look Back

As early as in the youngest Stone Age there was a settlement around Hartberg. In the 3rd century BC one of the most important prehistoric Stryrian settlements surrounded by a mighty ring wall fortification was set up at Ringkogel, the local Hartberg hill. In 1122 the town was founded by Margrave Leopold I von Steyr. Hartberg has even been the central location of the country for some time. The first decree as civitas, as town originates from the year 1286.

Plain & Simple

The church of the Capuchin Monastery with the corresponding monastery wing at Kernstockplatz is in accordance with these observances. This building was erected in 1654 and it was situated outside the town walls.

Here the Reckturm (Reck tower) reminds us of a gruesome past because it was not only a fortification but a prison as well. The Reckturm originates from the second half of the 13th century. At the upper end of the park you find the former medieval castle form the beginning of the 12th century. The Hartberg Castle.

A Castle in the Centre of the Town

It was acquired from the Paar dynasty, who were later decreed princes, and reconstructed into a Renaissance castle in 1572. In the 17th century an arcade wing was added. Today, these rooms are used as an education centre.

From the piece and quiet

of the Castle’s Park you can immerse yourself in the hustle and bustle of the town. In Herrengasse there is the Steinpeiß House adjacent to the former court. In 1834 a second town hall was housed here which now accommodates the Town Museum showing an interesting documentary about early history and the Roman period.

Impressive Indeed

Only a few meters away, the small Kirchengasse (church alley) leads to the baroque Stadtpfarrkirche (town parish) St. Martin. It used to be a Romanesque choir tower church and was first mentioned in 1157. In 1467 it was revamped into the Gothic style and in the 18th century it was again expanded after a fire.

Ambitious Indeed

The Romanesque Charnel House with its grandiose frescoes is located in the immediate vicinity. The building was first set up under the patronage of the priest Ulrich in the 12th century who then was the highest-ranking clergyman. It used to be a charnel house and became a baptistery. It was only in the 17th century that the rectory was built. The portal with its plastering around it and the plastered ceiling and frescoes with scenes from the Old Testament in the basement are really worth seeing.

Characteristic Indeed

The Town Hall in the Main Square which was completed in 1898 and refurbished in 1998 is the secular antipole.

The Steinerne Fluß (Stony River) made by sculptress Ulrike Truger, represents contemporary art work in the pedestrian zone and embodies the underground flowing Stadtbach (town brook).

The Schöblinger Tower is right at the Stadtteich (Town Pond) as one of the last witnesses of a well-fortified past. This tower is part of the former town boundaries.

Kulturspaziergang

Sehenswert

Erleben Sie auf einem virtuellen Kulturspaziergang durch Hartberg die Atmosphäre der Vergangenheit, erfahren Sie die Ausstrahlung einer modernen, lebendigen Stadt und seien Sie überrascht, wie Historisches und Zeitgenössisches ein harmonisches Ganzes ergeben.

Ein Blick zurück...

Schon in der jüngsten Steinzeit gab es in der Gegend um Hartberg eine Siedlung. Im 3. Jhdt. v. Chr. entstand am Ringkogel, dem "Hausberg" der Hartberger, eine der bedeutendsten urgeschichtlichen Siedlungen der Steiermark, umgeben von einer mächtigen Ringwallanlage. 1122 erfolgte schließlich die Gründung von Markgraf Leopold I von Steyr und einige Zeit lang war Hartberg sogar Zentralort des Landes. Die erste urkundliche Nennung als "civitas" = Stadt stammt aus dem Jahre 1286.



Schlicht & einfach

Entsprechend diesen Ordensregeln ist die Kirche des Kapuzinerklosters am Kernstockplatz mit dem anschließenden Klostertrakt gestaltet. 1654 errichtet stand dieser Bau ehemals außerhalb der Stadtmauern. An dieses Bauwerk grenzt der Stadtpark.



Dort erinnert der Reckturm an eine schaurige Vergangenheit, denn er diente nicht nur der Befestigung sondern auch als Gefängnis. Er stammt aus der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts. Am oberen Ende des Parks finden Sie die ehemalige mittelalterliche Burg aus dem Beginn des 12. Jahrhunderts. Das Schloss Hartberg.



Ein Schloss mitten in der Stadt

Es wurde 1572 vom Geschlecht der späteren Fürsten Paar erworben und im Renaissancestil in ein Schloss umgebaut und im 17. Jahrhundert um einen Arkadentrakt erweitert. Heute wird der Rittersaal für Hochzeiten, Musik- und Kulturveranstaltungen genutzt.

Aus der Ruhe

Des Schlossparks tauchen Sie wieder ein in die Lebendigkeit der Stadt. In der Herrengasse befindet sich neben dem ehemaligen Gericht das Steinpeißhaus. 1834 war hier ein zweites Rathaus untergebracht. Jetzt zeigt es als Stadtmuseum eine interessante Dokumentation der Frühgeschichte sowie der Römerzeit.

Eindrucksvoll

Wenige Meter entfernt führt die schmale Kirchengasse zur barocken Stadtpfarrkirche St. Martin. Sie war ursprünglich eine romanische Chorturmkirche und wurde erstmals 1157 erwähnt, 1467 gotisiert und im 18. Jahrhundert nach einem Brand neuerlich vergrößert.



Anspruchsvoll

In unmittelbarer Nähe steht der romanische Karner mit seinen eindrucksvollen Fresken. Begonnen wurde der Bau im 12. Jahrhundert unter Pfarrer Ulrich, der damals der ranghöchste Geistliche im Land war. Aus dem Aufbewahrungsort für Gebeine entstand daraus eine Taufkapelle. Erst im 17. Jahrhundert wurde der Pfarrhof erbaut. Sein stuckgerahmtes Portal sowie die Stuckdecke und Fresken mit Szenen aus dem Alten Testament im Erdgeschosssaal sind beachtenswert.

Charakteristisch

Das Rathaus, 1898 beendet und 1998 renoviert und ausgebaut, bildet den weltlichen Gegenpol am Hauptplatz.



Foto (c) Ulrike Truger
Foto (c) Ulrike Truger

Der Steinerne Fluß der Bildhauerin Ulrike Truger stellt in der Fußgängerzone ein Zeichen zeitgenössischen Kunstschaffens dar und verkörpert den noch unterirdisch fließenden Stadtbach.



Direkt beim Stadtteich gelegen steht der Schölbinger Turm als einer der letzten Zeugen wehrhafter Vergangenheit und stellt einen Teil der ehemaligen Stadtbegrenzung dar.